New PC arrived today


New PC arrived. The main reason for the new PC was to be able to run virtual machines which itself could act as a hypervisor for virtual machines. So I had chosen a HP pavilion with a Core i7 after asking if the virtualization features can be enabled. The PC comes with Windows 8 which is fine with me because GPL runs with it. So I installed VMware Workstation and then installed a evaluation of Windows 2012 Server and then activated the Hyper-V role. But to be able to run a Hypervisor in a VM I needed to edit the virtual machine configuration file (VMX).
I added those 3 lines to the end:

hypervisor.cpuid.v0 = “FALSE”
mce.enable = “TRUE”
vhv.enable = “TRUE”

Now I could activate the Hyper-V role and install a hyper-v guest like a Server 2012 inside. Great 🙂

PS: Forget to run GPL as a VM for playing. Maybe it could be run as a server and I use the virtualization stuff mainly for testing customer stuff and my own for testing some Linux distributions as well as for some simple software testing 😉

About gplps

Grand Prix Legends Fan
This entry was posted in General Information. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

